/ by /   Apha News, Foundation News, PHJ News / 0 comments

APHF awards 50 academic scholarships to Youth

Each year, the American Paint Horse Foundation awards scholarship funds to some of AjPHA’s most deserving young members. Over the past 25 years, APHF has awarded more than $810,000 in scholarships to 305 students.

Who are the students who receive foundation scholarships? They are the hard-working young horsemen and -women you see striving every day to be the best both in the horse show arena and in their academic pursuits. These students are supported by the generous donations given to the foundation program by APHA members in honor of loved ones or by regional Paint Horse clubs or zones.

For academic scholarship consideration, students must be a member of the AjPHA or APHA, must pass a college entrance examination, provide three letters of reference and submit an essay explaining their educational plans. After they have been granted a scholarship, they must maintain a “B” or better grade-point average to be eligible for renewal.

A total of 17 students received new scholarships for 2015-2016. They are:

 Laurel Caldwell  Southwest Washington PHC  TBD
 Kimberlyn Crisp  Bud & Bev Shoemaker  Tarleton State University
 Brinley Evans  Ashley Huntington Memorial  Fort Hays State University
 Taylor Gibson  Zone Three #2  CO Northwestern Community College
 Jennifer Hines  Jason Sheriff Memorial  Morrisville State College
 Katlyn Humphreys  Bob & Theda Bartholomew  TBD
 Anna Hutlas  Ark La Tex PHC  University of Georgia
 Kassandra Jones  Utah PHC #1  TBD
 Catherine Lankford  Keith Lemoine Memorial  Georgia Northwestern Technical Col
 Morgan Johnson  Zone Two  University of California Berkeley
 Madison Malsch  Zone Three #4  Texas A&M University
 Meredith Milton  Cross Timbers PHC #2  University of South Carolina
 Charles Rufo  Nebraska PHC  Oklahoma State University
 Amber Spinuzzi  Arizona PHC #2  University of Nevada-Reno
 Taylor Tuso  Mikea Smith Honorarium  Texas A&M University
 Callie Jo Ware  Paul White Memorial  University of Findlay
 Jessica Wood  Zone Three #2  University of Guelph

To renew, students much provide the previous semester’s official transcript and an update on their educational plans and goals. Thirty three students renewed their scholarships for the 2015-2016 academic year. They are:

 Brayanna Bergstrom  Illinois PHC #1  Baylor University
 Ella Brave  Bill & Joye Bryan Memorial  Lunds University
 Nicole Bricker  California Paint Racing  University of Missouri
 Gabrielle Buono  Joann Cook Memorial  Berry College
 McKenna Coveney  Arizona PHC #1  Cal Poly Pomona
 Serina Lee Pack  Utah PHC #3  Western New Mexico University
 Cheyenne Patton  Zone Three #1  Oklahoma State University
 Lauren Spivey  Lee Newsom Memorial  Auburn University
 Jessica Taylor  Illinois PHC #2  South Dakoka State University
 Eva Werschky  Arizona PHC #3  University of Nevada Reno
 Celsey Beneda  Zone Three #3  Kansas State University
 Tasha Gibson  Roland & Joan Hoch Memorial  CO Northwestern Comm College
 Meagen Jones  Arizona PHC #6  Brigham Young University
 Brogan Horton  Matt Diamond Memorial  Texas A&M University
 Makenzie Keefer  Central California PHC  Colorado State University
 Nadine Miller  Washington PHC  Washington State University
 Ashley Moore  Zone One #2  Oregon State University
 Jamie Riley  Zone One #1  University of Montana Western
 Kelsey Richie  Lynn Simons Memorial #2  Texas Christian University
 Shay Voorhees  Duane Pettibone Memorial  Dallas Baptist University
 Chloe Benning  Cross Timbers PHC #1  Baylor University
 Erin Blochberger  Floyd & MaryAnn Moore #1  Texas A&M University
 Kirsten Chamberland  Wonderlich  TBD
 Taylor Dixon  Sheila Plimpton Memorial  University of Georgia
 Hannah Himmellmann  Idaho PHC  University of Kentucky
 Courtney Hall  Floyd & MaryAnn Moore #2  Missouri State University
 Nicole Jennings  Dr. Bill Jackson  University of Findlay Ohio
 Crystal Ann Mitchell  Zone One #3  University of Wisconsin Madison
 Kelsey Kafesjian  Yoesel Memorial  Colorado State University
 Andrea Nelson  Arizona PHC #4  Utah State University
 Sarah Nelson  Lynn Simons Memorial #1  University of Saint Thomas
 Lindsey Valdiviez  Robert Hass Memorial  Baylor University
 Morgan Vance  Mary & Robert Parrott  Oklahoma State University

Interested in supporting the youth of APHA? Our Youth scholarship program is growing every year. We offer several ways to donate for education.

  • Academic Scholarships – Contribute to one of our existing endowments that fund a scholarship every year.
  • Youth World Championship Show Scholarships – This new initiative generates scholarship funds for AjPHA members competing at our championship show. The scholarship funds add up each year an exhibitor competes in select classes.

For more information or to donate, visit apha.com/foundation or contact Laura Jesberg at (817) 222-6412 or [email protected].


[Reprinting all or part of this news release is permitted, so long as credit is given to the Paint Horse Journal and a link provided to apha.com.]

 About APHA

The American Paint Horse Association is the world’s second-largest international equine breed association, registering more than a million horses in 59 nations and territories since it was founded. APHA creates and maintains programs that increase the value of American Paint Horses and enriches members’ experiences with their horses.