Academic Scholarships – Donate Now

Each year, the American Paint Horse Foundation awards scholarship funds to some of AjPHA’s most deserving young members. Over the past quarter century, the American Paint Horse Foundation has awarded more than $800,000 in scholarships to 272 students.
The Foundation annually awards more than 50 academic scholarships in the amount of $1,000 per year each to Paint Horse youth.
Who are the students who receive Foundation scholarships? They are the hard-working young horsemen and -women you see striving every day to be the best both in the horse show arena and in their academic pursuits. These students are supported by the generous donations given to the Foundation program by APHA members.
Academic scholarships are generated from American Paint Horse Foundation endowments. Currently, any new endowment must reach a minimum of $25,000 before it can generate a scholarship. CLICK HERE For an introduction to our new endowments as well as a complete list of our existing endowments. CLICK HERE to make a gift to support any of our endowments.
For academic scholarship consideration, students must be a member of the AjPHA or APHA, must pass a college entrance examination, provide three letters of reference and submit an essay explaining their educational plans. Once they have been granted a scholarship, they must maintain a “B” or better grade-point average to be eligible for renewal.
To apply for a academic scholarship, the application and letters of reference must be post marked by March 1 prior to the academic year.
Scholarship Application Information
Additional questions about the general scholarship application or process can be directed to the Foundation at foundation@apha.com.

2017 – 2018 Scholarship Recipients

This year, a total of 53 Youth members, comprised of 12 new recipients and 41 renewals, received scholarships worth $52,000 to help defray their college costs.

Scholarship recipients (new recipients in bold)

Kieli Adkins – University of Advancing Technology
Madeline Alewine – Oklahoma State University
Andrea Althoff – NE Oklahoma State University
Blayne Bell – Delaware State University
Chloe Benning – Texas A&M University
Heidi Borg – University of Nebraska Lincoln
Sydney Broussard – University of Florida
Laurel Caldwell – Oregon State University
Kristen Chamberland – Kansas State University
Mackenzie Chapman – Oklahoma State University
Sydney Craig – Florida Gulf Coast University
Brittany Disch – University of Wisconsin-Rock County
Taylor Dixson – California State University, Fresno
Alyssa Donelson – Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Sarah Eliason – William Woods University
Brinley Evans – Fort Hays State University
Frances Calli Foster – University of Mississippi
Taylor Gibson – Colorado Northwestern CC
Jacob Grinstead – Kansas State University
Abby Guin – Southern Arkansas University
Courtney Hall – Missouri State University
Hannah Himmelmann – University of Kentucky
Julie Hill – Texas A&M University
Curtis Howerton – Black Hawk College
Anna Hutlas – University of Georgia
Nicole Jennings – University of Findlay
Morgan Johnson – University of California Berkeley
Cassidy Jones – University of Missouri, Columbia
Kelsey Kafesjian – Colorado State University
Catherine Lankford – GA Northwestern Tech
Madison Malsch – Texas A&M University
Megan McClain – Otterbein University
Meredith Milton – University of South Carolina
Crystal Mitchell – Eastern Oregon University
Andrea Nelson – Utah State University
Sarah Nelson – Kansas State University
Caitlin Reed – Texas Tech University
Charles Rufo – Oklahoma State University
Alyssa Sappington – Oklahoma City CC
Halle Shouts – Purdue University
Amber Spinuzzi – University of Nevada Reno
Falon Sonnen – Oregon State University
Kara Stark – Texas A&M University
Anna Lia Sullivan – University of Delaware
Anna Clair Tucker – Mississippi State University
Taylor Tuso – Texas A&M University
Lindsey Valdiviez – Baylor University
Morgan Vance – Oklahoma State University
Kristen Venable – University of South Florida
Callie Jo Ware – University of Findlay
Raegan Watson – Lee College
Jessica Wood – University of Guelph
Lauren Zaddack – University of Wisconsin-River Falls