/ by /   Apha News, Clubs News, PHJ News / 0 comments

APHA Celebrates Judges Emeritus and Paint Professional Horsewoman of the Year

APHA is proud to recognize the hard work and leadership of Professional Horsemen and judges to improve and grow the Paint Horse community. Join us in celebrating the following horsemen and -women for their tireless efforts to serve Paint Horses and those who love them.

APHA will honor these leaders during Convention, taking place March 2–5 in Irving, Texas; all APHA members and Paint Horse enthusiasts are invited to attend—register today! (they’re specifically being honored at the banquet at Convention)

Don’t forget! ALL APHA members are invited and encouraged to attend Convention. Learn more and make plans here. 

APHA Judge Emeritus Award

This award recognizes outstanding judges who have dedicated their careers to judging APHA-approved events; recipients receive a commemorative trophy and customized Gist Silversmiths belt buckle.

2017 honorees are:

  • Doug Cline (1976-2017)
  • Doug Gregory (1986-2017)
  • Conrad Caines (1980-2017)
  • Brian Ellsworth (1983-2017)
  • Grant Gibbs (1989-2017)
  • Helmut Lekshas (1975-2017)
  • Charlie Sasser (1977-2017)
  • Allan Spidahl (1986-2017)
  • Randy Hembrook (1984-2017)
  • Gary Gordon (1983-2014)
  • Wayne Laske (1970-2014)

To be considered for the Emeritus Award, a judge must have at least 25 years of service or judged 150 APHA-approved events (25 years of service or 65 events for European-only judges); voluntarily retire with an excellent record; and be in good standing with the Judges Committee, with no disciplinary actions, probations or suspensions on their records. Applicants must be approved by the Judges Committee on an individual basis according to their records. Deceased judges who meet these award requirements will be considered.

For consideration, judges who meet these requirements must complete the Emeritus Award application and submit it to APHA before November 20.

APHA Paint Professional Horsewoman of the Year
Congratulations to Sandi Morgan of Provo, Utah, for being named the 2017 Paint Professional Horsewoman of the Year.

Established in 2016, the Paint Professional Horsemen of the Year award honors a hardworking professional who exemplifies the Professional Horsemen’s code of ethics and serves as a positive ambassador of Paint Horses and the overall equine industry.

An all-around trainer for more than 25 years, Sandi was nominated by her peers for her exemplary coaching, training and leadership efforts. In the show pen, Sandi has trained and coached Paints and exhibitors to numerous circuit championships, all-around titles and Top 20 year-end awards.

“Sandi is the most passionate, genuinely nice and hardworking individual,” one anonymous nomination read. “She is humble in her line of work, and she is well-loved by everyone in the industry. She goes above and beyond, both in her own training business as well as providing for what is best for APHA.”

“The welfare of the horse always comes first,” another nomination noted. “Sandi is kind and helpful to everyone.”

Markel APHA Professional Horsemen are outstanding members of the APHA community who pledge to encourage professionalism, fairness and integrity throughout the horse industry. Any APHA professional in good standing can apply to become a Markel APHA Professional Horsemen; applications and references are reviewed by the APHA Professional Horseman’s Committee. For more information on becoming a Markel APHA Professional Horseman, visit apha.com/programs/profhorsemen.




 [Reprinting all of part of this story is permitted, so long as credit is given to the Paint Horse Journal and a link provide back to apha.com.]

About APHA
The American Paint Horse Association is the world’s second-largest international equine breed association, registering more than a million horses in 59 nations and territories since it was founded. APHA promotes, preserves and provides meaningful experiences with Paint Horses.