/ by /   Apha News, Foundation News, OAWCS News, PHJ News / 0 comments

Reserve tickets now for 2023 APHA Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony

Start making plans now to join APHA on June 30, 2023, in Fort Worth, Texas, to honor six legends of the Paint Horse community, along with other esteemed award recipients. This year’s Hall of Fame class features:

  • Lynn Simons—A successful trainer, breeder and exhibitor from Aubrey, Texas, the late visionary was influential in establishing APHA as a top breed organization.
  • Fred Tabor—Involved since the 1970s, the horseman established Tabor Ranch in California and Texas, where he bred, trained and showed champion halter horses. Recently retired, he now resides in Rancho Murieta, California.
  • Pat Trebesch—A supporter of APHA for more than 50 years, the horseman from Aubrey, Texas, is respected as an APHA breeder, exhibitor and former trainer, judge and coach.
  • Craig Wood—The former APHA president from Owenton, Kentucky, is a Paint breeder, judge and Professional Horseman and was instrumental in guiding APHA.
  • RH Mr Imprint—This 1994 sorrel overo stallion was a three-time world and reserve world champion at halter and a top APHA sire. He was owned by Phil and Sue Drawdy of Fort Pierce, Florida.
  • Un Zip Me—The 1987 black overo mare earned 10 Amateur world and reserve world championships in Western pleasure, trail, Western riding and showmanship, along with three world and national titles in Open Western pleasure. She was owned by Harlene and Russell Rowe of Long Beach, California.

The 2023 Hall of Fame & Awards Ceremony take place June 30 at 6 p.m. in the Round Up Inn in the Amon Carter Building at Will Rogers Memorial Center in Fort Worth, in conjunction with the APHA World Championship Show.

In addition to the Hall of Fame induction ceremony, several other 2022 year-end awards will be presented. Congratulations to the following recipients:

  • Markel Professional Horseman of the Year: Karen Banister
  • High-Point Open Exhibitor: Karen Qualls
  • Judge Emeritus: Mike Baker, Cindy Rucker, Maryanne Willoughby, Scot Jackson, Debby Letham, John Letham, Rick McLain, Bonnie Miller, Mike Short
  • Don Manuello Ring Steward Award: Carla McMullen
  • Distinguished Service Award: Karen Kennedy
  • Breeders’ Trust Leading Sire: Zippos Sensation
  • Top Five Stallion Owners
  • President’s Gold Star Award
  • President’s Clubs of Distinction

It’s sure to be a night to remember! Come celebrate these trailblazers with your APHA family.

Tickets are going fast—reserve your spot here.


[Reprinting all or part of this news release is permitted, so long as credit is given to the Paint Horse Journal and a link provided back to apha.com.]

About APHA

The American Paint Horse Association is the world’s second-largest international equine breed association, registering more than a million horses in 59 nations and territories since it was founded in 1962. APHA promotes, preserves and provides meaningful experiences with Paint Horses.