/ by /   Apha News, Foundation News / 0 comments

APHF Salutes its 2017-2018 Academic Scholarship Recipients

Each year, the American Paint Horse Foundation awards scholarship funds to some of AjPHA’s most deserving young members. Over the past quarter century, APHF has awarded almost $900,000 in scholarships to more than 300 students.

Who are the students who receive foundation scholarships? They are the hard-working young horsemen and -women you see striving every day to be the best both in the horse show arena and in their academic pursuits. These students are supported by the generous donations given to the foundation program by APHA members in honor of loved ones or by regional Paint Horse clubs or zones.

For academic scholarship consideration, students must be a member of the AjPHA or APHA, must pass a college entrance examination, provide three letters of reference and submit an essay explaining their educational plans. After they have been granted a scholarship, they must take a minimum of 12 hours per semester and maintain a “B” or better grade-point average to be eligible for renewal.

A total of 12 students received new scholarships for the 2017-2018 academic year. They are:

Kieli Adkins – Arizona Paint Horse Club Endowment #2
Heidi Borg – Zone Three Endowment #3
Mackenzie Chapman – Jason Sheriff Memorial Endowment
Brittany Disch – Lynn Simons Endowment #2
Alyssa Donelson – Roland & Joan Hoch Memorial Endowment
Sarah Eliason – Utah Paint Horse Club Endowment #2
Megan McClain – Washington State Paint Horse Club Endowment
Halle Shoults – Nevada Paint Horse Club Endowment
Falon Sonnen – Zone One Endowment #1
Kara Stark – Central California Paint Horse Club Endowment
Anna Lia Sullivan – Matt Diamond Memorial Endowment
Anna Clair Tucker – Duane Pettibone Memorial Endowment

To renew, students much provide the previous semester’s official transcript and an update on their educational plans and goals. Forty-one students renewed their scholarships for the 2017-2018 academic year. They are:

 Chloe Bening – Cross Timbers Endowment #1
Sydney Broussard – Floyd & MaryAnn Moore Honorarium Endowment #1
Kirsten Chamberland – Wonderlich Honorarium Endowment
Taylor Dixon – Nevada Paint Horse Club/Shiela Plimpton Memorial Endowment
Hannah Himmelmann – Idaho Paint Horse Club Endowment
Courtney Hall – Floyd & MaryAnn Moore Honorarium Endowment #2
Nicole Jennings – Dr. Billy Jackson Memorial Endowment
Meagen Jones – Arizona Paint Horse Club Endowment #3
Crystal Ann Mitchell – Zone One Endowment #3
Kelsey Kafesjian – Bill and Rachael Yoesel Memorial Endowment
Andrea Nelson – Arizona Paint Horse Club Endowment #4
Sarah Nelson – Lynn Simons Memorial Endowment #1
Lindsey Validiez – Robert Haas Memorial Endowment
Morgan Vance – Robert & Mary Parrott Honorarium Endowment
Laurel Caldwell – Southwest Washington Paint Horse Club Endowment
Kimberlyn Crisp – Bud & Beverly Shoemaker Memorial Endowment
Brinley Evans – Ashley Huntington Memorial Endowment
Taylor Gibson – Zone Three Endowment #2
Anna Hutlas – Ark-La-Tex Paint Horse Club Endowment
Morgan Johnson – Zone Two Endowment
Catherine Lankford – Keith Lemoine Memorial Endowment
Madison Malsch – Zone Three Endowment #4
Meredith Milton – Cross Timbers Endowment #2
Charles Rufo – Nebraska Paint Horse Club
Taylor Tuso – Mikea Smith Memorial Endowment
Callie Jo Ware – Paul White Memorial Endowment
Jessica Wood – Dr. William & Mable Garnier Memorial Endowment
Madeline Alewine – Arizona Paint Horse Club Endowment #1
Andrea Alhoff – Lee Newsome Memorial Endowment
Blayne Bell – Zone One Endowment
Frances (Calli) Foster – Utah Paint Horse Club Endowment #1
Abby Guin – Bill & Joye Bryan Memorial Endowment
Jacob Grinstead – Zone Three Endowment #1
Julie Hill – Dr. Bill Jackson Endowment #1
Curtis Howerton – Illinois Paint Horse Club Endowment #1
Cassidy Jones – Bob & Theda Bartholomew Memorial Endowment
Caitlin Reed – California Paint Racing Endowment
Alyssa Sappington – Joann Cook Memorial Endowment
Raegan Watson – Utah Paint Horse Club Endowment #3
Kristen Venable – Williamson/Brashears Memorial Endowment
Lauren Zaddack – Illinois Endowment #2

Interested in supporting the youth of APHA? Our Youth scholarship program is growing every year. We offer several ways to donate for education.

  • Academic Scholarships – Contribute to one of our existing endowments that fund a scholarship every year.
  • Youth World Championship Show Endowment – Help us finish this endowment, which will generate scholarship funds for AjPHA members competing at our championship show in perpetuity.

For more information or to donate, visit apha.com/foundation or contact Laura Jesberg at (817) 222-6412 or [email protected].

[Reprinting all or part of this news release is permitted, so long as credit is given to the Paint Horse Journal and a link provided to apha.com.]

About the APHA
The American Paint Horse Association is the world’s second-largest equine breed association, registering more than a million horses in 59 nations and territories since it was founded. Its mission is to inspire, nurture, promote and provide meaningful experiences to generations interested in preserving the versatile Paint Horse.