/ by /   Apha News, Clubs News, Foundation News, Judge News, PHJ News / 0 comments

APHA honors 9 with prestigious judge emeritus award

Nine longstanding APHA judges will be recognized by the association with the Emeritus Award June 30 during the 2023 Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony. The award recognizes outstanding judges who have dedicated their careers to judging APHA-approved events.

2022 honorees are:

  • Mike Baker (1980-2022)
  • Debby Letham (1987-2022)
  • John Letham (1985-2022)
  • Scot Jackson (1997-2022)
  • Rick McLain (1977-2022)
  • Bonnie Miller (1987-2022)
  • Cindy Rucker (2001-2022)
  • Mike Short (2003-2022)
  • Maryann Willoughby (1981-2022)

To be considered for the Emeritus Award, a judge must have at least 25 years of service or judged 150 APHA-approved events (25 years of service or 65 events for European-only judges), voluntarily retire with an excellent record and be in good standing with the Judges Committee, with no disciplinary actions, probations or suspensions on their records. Applicants must be approved by the Judges Committee on an individual basis according to their records. Deceased judges who meet these award requirements can also be considered.

Start making plans now to join us in celebrating these dedicated individuals and other 2022 year-end award winners as well as the latest class of the APHA Hall of Fame:

  • Lynn Simons
  • Fred Tabor
  • Pat Trebesch
  • Craig Wood
  • RH Mr Imprint
  • Un Zip Me

A Night of Honors

The 2023 Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony takes place June 30 at 6 p.m. in the Round Up Inn in the Amon Carter Building at Will Rogers Memorial Center in Fort Worth, in conjunction with the APHA World Championship Show.

Other year-end award winners to be honored at the event include:

  • Professional Horseman of the Year:  Karen Banister
  • High-Point Open Exhibitor:  Karen Qualls
  • Distinguished Service Award:  Karen Kennedy
  • Don Manuello Ring Steward Award: Carla McMullen
  • Top Five Stallion Owners:  Iron Rose Ranch, Arcese Quarter Horses USA, Kevin Truax, Tanya Jenkins, Red Junction Production, LLC
  • President’s Gold Star Award: Southwest Washington Paint Horse Club
  • President’s Clubs of Distinction:
    Dutch Paint Horse Club
    Michigan Paint Horse Club
    Ontario Paint Horse Club
    Paint Horse Club Slovak Republic
  • President’s Clubs of Distinction – Honorable Mention:
    Ohio Paint Horse Club
    Eastern Nevada Paint Horse Club

It’s sure to be a night to remember! Come celebrate these trailblazers with your APHA family.

Tickets are going fast—reserve your spot here.


[Reprinting all or part of this news release is permitted, so long as credit is given to the Paint Horse Journal and a link provided back to apha.com.]


About APHA

The American Paint Horse Association is the world’s second-largest international equine breed association, registering more than a million horses in 59 nations and territories since it was founded in 1962. APHA promotes, preserves and provides meaningful experiences with Paint Horses.