Open Division

For exhibitors who are ready to challenge all comers, the APHA offers classes that are “open” to everyone—professional and non-professional alike. With more than 20 different events in this division, there is virtually something for everyone – from cutting and reining to jumping and pleasure driving.

Open Class Categories

Category 1
Category 2
Barrel Racing * Pole Bending * Cow Pony Race * Stake Race * Team Penning * Ranch Sorting
Category 3
Reining * Western Riding * Trail * Utility Driving* Ranch Riding*Ranch Reining* Ranch Trail
Category 4
Working Hunter * Hunter Hack * Jumping * Preliminary Working Hunter
Category 5
Cutting * Ranch Cutting*Tie-Down Roping * Heading * Heeling * Steer Stopping * Working Cow Horse* Ranch Cow Work
Category 6
Hunter Under Saddle * Pleasure Driving * Western Pleasure* Ranch Pleasure*Ranch Rail Pleasure
Category 7
Category 8
Yearling & 2 YO Longe Line (eligible for ROM only)*Yearling In-Hand Trail (eligible for ROM only)
Category 10
Cowboy Mounted Shooting
Category 11
Category 12
Competitive Trail Horse (eligible for ROM, Versatility, and Honor Roll only)
Category 13
Calas and Colas