APHA

Resources for Show Managers and Secretaries

Welcome to APHA’s Show Managers and Secretaries resource web. Here and via the links on the right hand side of this page, you can find a gold mine of information about managing a successful Paint Horse show.

We always welcome your input, if there is additional information you would like to see in this area, please contact APHA Senior Director of Show and Contest Holly Slaughter, by phone at (817) 834-2742 extension 446 or by email hslaughter@apha.com.

Membership Requirements
Ownership and Membership Requirements for Youth exhibitors
Show Entry Template
Show Entry Template Instructions
Judge Card

 

 

Some Tips for Successful Show Managing

  • Watch your timeline. Start planning early. Make checklists of
    details—what needs to be done and when—and stick to it.
  • Check with the APHA early to make sure your show date is available
    and does not conflict with another show.
  • Set your team and designate their responsibilities. Make sure
    someone on the team knows where you are in the planning process.
  • Get all contracts in writing and signed. Take them to the show with
    you in case a question comes up. This includes contracts for the
    arena, judges, ring stewards, gatekeepers, equipment and barn
    managers, and host hotel. Make sure show secretary’s contract
    includes office expenses.
  • If there are changes to the classes that will be offered at your
    show, be sure to submit those changes in writing to the APHA at least
    30 days prior to the show.
  • Be flexible and make decisions as the show goes on.
  • Critique a show immediately afterward. Type up recommendations and send to club contact for use in future planning.

Scribe Workshop PowerPoint (122kb)

Contact Us

Performance Department – (817) 834-2742, ext. 773

Senior Director of Show & Contest
Holly Nelson Slaughter, ext. 446 or hslaughter@apha.com

Assistant Director of Show and Contest
Candy Jebavy, ext. 441 or cjebavy@apha.com

Director of Judges
David Dellin
(817) 718-4223 or ddellin@apha.com

Manager of Show & Contest
Amanda Cormack, ext. 416 or acormack@apha.com

Director of Youth Activities
Christine Henry, ext. 436 or chenry@apha.com

Director of Amateur Activities
Savanna Robbins, ext. 440 or srobbins@apha.com

Director of Breeders’ Trust/ Breeders’ Futurity
Candy Jebavy, ext. 441 or cjebavy@apha.com

Director of Racing, Paint Barrel Racing Incentive Program (PBRIP) & Paint Alternative Competition
Karen Utecht, ext. 444 or kutecht@apha.com

Regional Club Manager
Julie Haney, ext. 404 or jhaney@apha.com

Show Events & Awards Coordinator
Christine Henry, ext. 436 or chenry@apha.com

Member Care DepartmentResponsible for processing all show applications and show results, posting shows and answering questions concerning current year rules.

General Information & Show Records
ext. 778

Fax Number: 817-222-8496

Show Approval Manager
Angie Willis, ext. 341 or awillis@apha.com

Emergency Show Assistance Hotline
(4:30 p.m. Central time Friday – end of day Sunday)
817-487-6102

SHARE THIS

smugmug-ico
View Galleries on SmugMug

CORPORATE PARTNERS